Try Cambly for free. No payment info needed for free trial.


Profession: ESL Teacher

Teaching Experience: Hi there! I've been working as an ESL teacher in Quito, Ecuador since October 2015 and will continue teaching English as a second language abroad for at least the next two years. My current students are at the "academic" level (think: very high-level grammar and more complex vocabulary), but I've also taught intermediate English here. Most of my students have been high school students and professional adults in their 20s-40s, but I've also had some university students as well. I've recently completed all the work to obtain my TEFL Certification, the paperwork for which I will receive next month. Before working as an ESL instructor, I spent my free time working as a volunteer in educational capacities. I worked as a volunteer reading tutor for four six-year-olds at a local elementary school, and I also volunteered as a classroom assistant in an ESL classroom at a high school for immigrants and refugees.

Interests: When I'm not working, I enjoy spending time outside. I love to go camping and hiking and even just spending the day outside in a park. I enjoy reading books (some of my favorites are The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende, The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver, Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese, and Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow). Traveling has long been a hobby of mine, as has getting to know people from different cultures. I currently live in South America and will soon be making a move all the way to East Africa to continue teaching ESL in a new part of the world. I love hearing different kinds of music (Ecuadorian pasillos, or folk music, are so beautiful!), trying new foods, learning new languages, and experiencing new natural beauties of the world. I'm passionate about social justice and immigrant rights and hope to work with a nonprofit serving immigrants and refugees at some point in the next ten years.

Education: I graduated from the University of California, Berkeley with a Bachelor's of Arts in History. I also took extensive foreign language courses: several in Spanish, two in Portuguese, and one in French.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Spanish (Fluent), Portuguese (Conversational)

Profile Video: