Try Cambly for free. No payment info needed for free trial.

minty518

Teaching Experience: I have ten summers of experience teaching children and adolescents reading and writing in a multicultural setting. I worked with individuals one-on-one and in small groups, structuring their lessons to fit their development and actively monitoring their progress over the summer. I delivered age-appropriate curriculum and instruction to these children who ranged in age from 4 to 13. In addition, I have several years experience tutoring middle and high school age students in the subjects of math, Spanish, reading, writing, and guiding juniors and seniors through the college applications process. I was a tutor throughout high school with my Honors Society, and continued tutoring and mentoring students when I was an undergraduate at the University of Washington. I work well one-on-one with students of all backgrounds and abilities, empowering them with the tools and skills to succeed in their subject of interest. My approach to teaching is to listen carefully to your goals, concerns, and suggestions, and work closely with you to utilize your many strengths and keep you motivated! I especially am passionate about working with first generation and underrepresented students.

Interests: I love spending time outdoors, especially hiking, running, and gardening in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I am passionate about social justice causes, including advocating for the rights of immigrants, refugees, women and children. I also love to read and watch films. I love talking with people and hearing their stories and passions, and I look forward to getting to know you!

Education: I am a graduate of the University of Washington in Seattle, WA. I have a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and Public Health (double major). I am also currently pursuing a Master of Social Work at the University of Washington, with a focus on Community-Centered Practice.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Arabic (Conversational), Spanish (Conversational)