Mitch S

Profession: musician, teacher, traveler...

Teaching Experience: I have worked as an English conversation partner with adult students at a language school in Morocco. I also have extensive experience with children in different settings - among them, giving music lessons, and teaching basic English classes.

Interests: music (rock, jazz, blues, improvised music, traditional music from around the world), cultures, history, food, current events (news), education, alternative lifestyles, environmentalism

Education: I completed a TEFL certificate online to help prepare myself for teaching English.

I have a bachelor's degree in music and film, and worked for around 2 years as a teacher at a private music school. I didn't study to be a teacher, but continue to gain experience. I hope to continue my training and education in the near future, and teach music in a school as a full time job.

Spoken Languages: Spanish (Basic), Bulgarian (Basic), English (Native)


Profession: Student

Teaching Experience: I have prior experience as an ESL tutor.

Interests: I love literature, art, music, and food.

Education: I study Chemistry at Ateneo de Manila University, one of the top universities in the Philippines.

Spoken Languages: English (Fluent), English (Fluent)


Teaching Experience: I represented the City of Anaheim as a Student Ambassador on a trip to Mito, Japan where I taught Japanese students on the principles of American culture. Not only did I teach, but I learned in the short amount of time I was there!

Interests: I am a huge fan of Harry Potter, The Hunger Games and various classic novels (please feel free to suggest any books to me). I love watching documentaries, television shows and movies on Netflix, HuluPlus and Amazon Video Player. I am fairly good at math (but I hate it).

I am currently enrolling in community college to become a business major and I am also trying to self learn Japanese. I can't wait to learn and grow with you!

Education: Loara High School (Class of 2007)- Anaheim, California

Spoken Languages: English (Native)

Michael R

Profession: English Teacher

Teaching Experience: For the past 9 years I have conversed with a variety of ESL learners who have been my roommates, as I assisted them with improving their English speaking, grammar, and culture skills. Currently I have roommates from China and Japan, however I've had roommates from around the world.

Interests: I enjoy watching great movies, playing video games, meeting new people, and cycling or just spending time outdoors in beautiful Montreal.

Education: I have completed university-level courses in English, as well as possessing excellent communication and listening skills demonstrated in my professional experiences. I am also a native English speaker born in Ontario, and I possess superb English.
MIT – Intro to Computer Science and Programming Using Python
Most recently I completed an intensive online course through MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) in developing Python algorithms for problem-solving
Concordia University – Physics Units (Montreal)
Focused on Electricity & Magnetism, Mechanics, Calculus, & Computer Science

Spoken Languages: English (Native)

Marina N

Profession: I have taught English as a Second Language for the past 35 years in Beirut, Lebanon; Yerevan, Armenia; Boston, Massachusetts, USA.

Teaching Experience: I have been teaching English to learners of foreign languages for the past 30 and more years. I have taught to people from different nationalities in different countries and also to people who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing.
Presently, I teach at a private college where my students are from different corners of the world like Brazil, Iraq, Turkey, Korea, Chile, and Palestine. The age of my students range from 13 years old to 60 years old.
I have a TEFL/TESOL/TESL/ Certificate and
I usually teach English through speaking and conversation. It is very important that learners of English as a second language not be afraid or shy to talk English whenever they get the chance.

Interests: I like to talk about different topics and mainly about cooking, culture, customs, and disability issues. However, this doesn't mean that I am uninterested in different assured that you may open a topic, and I may become interested in them :)

Education: I received my education both in Lebanon where I was born and later in the United States. Besides English I can speak Armenian, Arabic, and American Sign Language.
I received my BA in English and English Literature.
I hold a TEFL/TESOL/TESL Certification from Oxford Seminars at MIT, Boston.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Armenian (Native), Arabic (Basic)

John Goh

Profession: Christian teacher specializing in bible, world missions, discipleship, worldview, and world affairs

Teaching Experience: Teaching English to Mongolian English teachers. Tutoring one-on-one.

Interests: Traveling, Reading, Watching Movies, Current Issues, Christianity, Missions.

Education: B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from NY Polytechnic University. M.S. in Mechancial Engineering from M.I.T. M.Div. from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. A.A. in Intercultural Studies at University of the Nations.

Spoken Languages: English (Native)

Arthur J

Teaching Experience: Hello. I have taught English in the countries of China, Georgia and India as well as online to students from around the world. I am also an NLP trainer and have been in the education and training fields since the mid 90s. Currently, I greatly enjoy helping people practice their conversational English. This is very rewarding and enjoyable. I have traveled a lot and have a good amount of experience in different areas of life which can help in the conversation English practice.

I have found many people learning English as a second language simply need more practice. They can read and write and have a more than ample vocabulary but still have difficulties in meetings or while listening to a lecturer. The ability to process language at a faster and more fluid rate simply takes practice. Being able to communicate smoothly is the goal of most my students. I greatly enjoy this as it allows great freedom in what we speak about. And it also tends to help the students progress quickly and steadily.

I will be assisting students with their subject matter studies. I have found a nice free website which has many articles for learning different subjects. These articles also highlight many terms which one should know as they study the particular field. Subjects range from education to the sciences.

Interests: I greatly enjoy exploring life. I play chess (B level) and I am slowly improving. I enjoy traveling and have been to India, China, Nepal, Bosnia and Georgia as well as several of the states in America. I like learning about other cultures and their foods and unique qualities. I also like to travel to events which help promote intercultural relationships.My photo was taken in Lucknow, India where I gave a presentation at and International Interfaith Dialog for World Peace Conference,

Education: I was born in Boston USA and lived in the area most of my life. I received my M.Ed. next door in Cambridge MA home of MIT and Harvard University. I received my TESOL certificate at a live training in Calcutta India and also received an NLP Trainers Certificate.

Spoken Languages: English (Native)


Teaching Experience: I can teach Vietnamese and English.

Interests: I really enjoy walking in the park, looking at beautiful houses while driving, watching movies, and most of all, helping other beings.

Education: I was born in Vietnam and after finishing 5th grade, I migrated to the US in 1984, I attended middle school, high school in San Francisco, and more than 7 years in colleges studying areas of interests. I am also a graduate of Paul Mitchell academy.

Spoken Languages: English (Fluent), Vietnamese (Fluent)

Chantal A

Teaching Experience: I have over two years of experience English to teenagers and adults of different levels. I have taught English to students at a middle school in Busan, South Korea, and to students from all over the world who have come to study English in the UK. I love teaching English and helping my students to improve their conversational skills.

Interests: I love reading books, especially fiction. Haruki Murakami, David Mitchell and Jane Austen are some of my favourite authors, and The Life of Pi is my favourite book. I also enjoy running and doing yoga. I also love watching comedy TV shows and watching comedy and independent films. My favourite film is a French film called Amelie.

I am also trying to learn Korean, so I understand how difficult it can be to learn a language! One day I really hope to be able to watch my favourite Korean tv shows and films without English subtitles.

Education: I have a BA from the University of Reading in English Literature, and I have just completed my MA in English Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics from King's College, London. I also have a Level 5 Trinity TESOL certificate from St Giles International in London.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Korean (Basic)

Mia Madison

Profession: Project Coordinator

Teaching Experience: Basic and Intermediate Class with Korean Students

Interests: Sports, traveling, culture, spending time with family and friends

Education: BSBA Masscommunication major in Broadcasting in Centro Escolar University, Manila, Philippines

Spoken Languages: English (Fluent), Tagalog (Native)