Trevor E

Profession: AMERICAN English Teacher with 13 years of experience

Teaching Experience: I have over 13 years of teaching experience in Chicago, New York City, Poland , and Mexico. I am currently the English Program Coordinator for a private school in Tulum, Mexico. I teach using the communicative approach and encourage my students to express themselves. I am knowlegable about a wide range of topics and really enjoy discussing current events.

Interests: I like to exercise, read, work out, hang out with my friends, etc.

Education: I obtained a BA in Urban and Public Affairs from the University of Illinois in Chicago and I received my teaching certification fron the New School University in Manhattan, NYC.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Spanish (Fluent)

Ellis C

Profession: I am a Teacher who teaches English, world history, math and science.

Teaching Experience: I teach classes and give presentations at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago to local teachers and visitors on a variety of museum topics. I have also taught sixth grade.

Interests: I really enjoy traveling, hiking, biking, reading, writing and eating good food.

Education: I attended Michigan Technological University.

Spoken Languages: English (Fluent)

Rachel Andy

Profession: ESL Support Specialist

Teaching Experience: I have been teaching English to international students in Chicago for almost 2 years. I prepare my students for tests such as the IELTS and TOEFL, as well as help them improve their conversation skills, pronunciation, grammar, and whatever else is important to them.

Interests: Some things I love most are learning languages, traveling, music, dancing, and dogs.

Education: I graduated in 2013 from Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan, USA, receiving a B.A. in Russian Studies and International Relations.

I also hold a TOEFL/TESOL certification from Oxford Seminars.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Russian (Conversational)

Sylvia G

Profession: English as a Foreign Language Teacher

Teaching Experience: English Language and Culture Teacher - 2 years Madrid, Spain
Math Teacher - 6 months in Chicago, USA
Middle School Summer Math Teacher - Summer 2014 in Chicago, USA

Interests: Foreign language teaching, traveling, Spanish culture, Polish culture, swimming, dancing, soccer

Education: Masters in Teaching and Learning Spanish as a Foreign Language from Universidad de Alcalá: 2015-2016

Certificate of English Teaching Methodology from Universidad Pontificia Comillas (Madrid, Spain): 2014-2015

Bachelor´s from Northwestern University (Evanston, IL, USA) - Secondary Education - Mathematics and Spanish, Psychology: 2010-2014

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Polish (Native), Spanish (Fluent)


Teaching Experience: - 2 years of adult volunteer teaching practicum
- Real classroom English teaching experience at Teaching House in Chicago (Groups of 12-15)

Interests: - I love watching and playing basketball.
- I play the guitar
- I love cooking
- I speak Korean
- I am learning Chinese
- I love Korean dramas and music!

Education: - Cambridge University English Teaching Certificate (CELTA)
- Advanced TESOL Certificate from Canadian Institute of English & Applied Neuroscience
- Currently working on Bachelor's Degree in TESOL
- Attended Le Cordon Bleu Culinary College and received my Associate's Degree in Culinary Operations.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Korean (Fluent), Chinese (Basic)


Teaching Experience: I taught Math to ESL students in Chicago for a few years. During that time, I also traveled to Saigon, Vietnam and Gulu, Uganda to work with teachers on developing English curriculum. I tutored students in low-income communities for their SATs for several years and still work with students to edit their college essays.

Interests: I love traveling! I just went backpacking in Europe last year, and I'm hoping to backpack in Southeast Asia this year. I also love food. I'm not picky at all and will eat anything set in front of me. I feel traveling and food go hand-in-hand and I've learned a lot about other people through their cuisine. I read a lot and like to peruse used book stores wherever I go. I also try several new things activities a year - this year I'm learning how to rock climb and how to play the ukulele!

Education: I went to UCLA for my B.A. in political science. It was an amazing experience, particularly because I was learning really interesting topics like voting trends and presidential communications right when Obama was throwing his hat into the ring. I loved it! I then went on to study education and got my masters in teaching from Dominican University. Shortly after, I pivoted and went on to study public health and received my second masters from Boston University.

Spoken Languages: English (Native)


Teaching Experience: Taught at Hampson English, Fengtai School Number one, Kids Castle,and Yi jao wang
A very calm and patient English Teacher with skills in;
 Handling students of all age-groups especially Kindergarten kids. Teaching business English as
well as TOEFL.
 Ensuring discipline with fun and focused class
 Making the class interesting with games, stories and videos when necessary
 Engaging students in study activities that help develop personal skills and potentials
 Ensuring that students are divided into groups in class for interesting class activities and other related fun-study activities
 Group class teaching
 One-on-One teacher-student teaching
 Making sure that students are safe and happy in their studying environment.
Hello everyone my name is James Golden. I am currently living in Chicago United State of America I engaged in English education industry a few years’ time, I helped English learners of all ages improve their English, as for what I teach I teach business English, interview classes in English, and oral English at any level. If you want to learn English and American culture, I am very happy to be your teacher and to share what I know with you. As for my teaching style I feel learning should be fun and comfortable I'm a very patient teacher who will help students make their progress depending on their needs. Learning is not enough; you must apply what you have learned in a realistic setting for it to stay with you for your lifetime. As for my hobbies I enjoy martial arts, watching movies, traveling, and i love to laugh and make jokes.

Interests: trying different foods, martial arts, reading, basketball, making jokes, and teaching English!

Education: Columbia college American TESOL certification

Spoken Languages: English (Native)


Teaching Experience: I speak English and Polish fluently, and am learning Spanish. In my experience, I tutored young immigrants from Mexico for three years at a community center in Chicago. I also participated in a pen pal program where I wrote to a girl living in Spain who was trying to learn English. Lastly, I tutored writing, Spanish and history at my school's learning center.

Interests: I'm a redditor, movie geek, and food fanatic. I also enjoy writing and volunteering at nonprofit organizations. I'd like to say I'm an activist-in-the-making.

Education: *Lake Forest College- pursuing Bachelor's degree in Economics and Psychology
*Was awarded high Advanced Placement scores in both the English Language and Spanish Language exams
*Attended Polish school in the US for 6 years

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Polish (Fluent), Spanish (Basic)

Breanna C

Profession: I currently work as a freelance writer.

Teaching Experience: In the past, I have worked as an English tutor at the University of Chicago Lab School. I have also work as an after school tutor at various "at risk" elementary schools, where I was able to develop my own lesson plans. My most recent experience was teaching grammar to first and second year undergraduate students at Chicago State University, working alongside their professors in and out of the classroom setting.

Interests: literature, philosophy, art, dance, pop culture, film, science, psychology, superheroes, sociology, history, spirituality, anime, and most importantly, food

Education: I attended Chicago State University as an undergrad. I majored in English.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), French (Basic)


Teaching Experience: 2015 6 Week TESOL Internship Family Empowerment Center Chicago, IL
Taught English classes to 20 Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced Students
Lesson planned according to specific needs of my students
Taught 3 hour long classes 4 days a week, adding up to 72 total hours of teaching
Executed language learning activities that were specifically geared towards all levels

Spring-Fall 2015 Volunteer ESL Teaching Family Empowerment Center Chicago, IL
Taught English class to Advanced students for 2 hours every week
Occasionally collaborated with another teacher
Anticipated students challenges and provided solutions for their struggles
Encouraged each student individually while teaching them collectively

Fall 2014 Volunteer English Teacher Indo American Center Chicago, IL
Taught English to Beginner and Preliterate students
Co-taught 20 students who had recently relocated to the U.S. in the previous 3 months
Systematically planned lessons with other teacher to coordinate materials

Fall 2013-Spring 2014 Volunteer Homework and English Tutor World Relief Chicago, IL
Tutored refugee children in English and with their homework
Facilitated homework help in a one-on-one setting with children from non-English speaking homes
Mentored students as they adapted to American culture and the English language

Spring-Fall 2012 Volunteer English Tutor World Relief Spokane, WA
English tutor to refugees from various different countries
Created lesson plans for individual families that related to their culture
Implemented language learning that also taught them American culture
Created games and planned outings that invoked language learning and a sense of community

Summers of 2009, 10 and 11 Volunteer English Teacher C.A.R.E Guilin, China
Taught English to Chinese students in Guilin, China for three summers
Promoted language learning while getting involved in their culture
Utilized Chinese experiences as a method to teach them English
Supplied English teaching materials in a classroom setting

Interests: I love music, being outside, traveling, sports and reading. I have been playing guitar for about 10 years, bass for about 5 years and have just recently started to learn the violin. I have been to China 3 different times, traveling through Beijing, Shanghai and Guilin. I enjoy playing basketball, baseball and American football. I love to read fantasy and fiction books.

Education: Bachelors of Arts in TESOL Moody Bible Institute Chicago, IL

Spoken Languages: English (Native)