CaliforniaMan

Teaching Experience: I have done no formal teaching. I just like to talk to people from other countries and cultures.

Interests: I play chess, take long walks, enjoy movies, and reading news on the internet.
I was a documentary cameraman for 16 years. I am now retired, and I write about some of my experiences and travels as a cameraman.

Education: I went to Oberlin College in Ohio and studied Psychology.
I also studied computer science at the University of California.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), French (Basic)


Thomas East

Profession: 21 years teaching in Californian High Schools, 26 months teaching in Korea, 6 months teaching in Cambodia. I have been tutoring since 1987.

Teaching Experience: I have taught English for 21 in different high schools, junior highs and adult schools. I also have extensively taught History, business and all other subjects as a home hospital, summer school, adult school, and private teacher.

Interests: Traveling, Cooking, Learning, Basketball, lifting Weights, Teaching, Languages, Talking with strangers, volunteering

Education: Master's Business Management Troy University, Education Administration Credential Santa Clara University, CLAD Credential Stanford University, Social Science Credential San Jose State University, BA Political Science San Jose State University, Minor-Asian Studies

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Korean (Conversational), Spanish (Conversational)


Handel Forde

Teaching Experience: I've been tutoring here at Cambly for over a year and I love it! I worked as a volunteer at a library Computer Lab, in Northern California, where I assisted first-time computer users during instructional lectures as well as on a one-to-one basis. I also helped library patrons who had issues with their Kindle and Nook tablets. Helping beginners is fun and quite an adrenaline rush!

Interests: Romance Languages, Ancient Rome, Computers, Jazz, 80's music, Grunge music, Classic Rock, College Football (American Football), the Bay Area, Public Transit Advocacy, Volunteering.

Education: I have a BA in History and Classical Civilizations from the University of California at Berkeley

Spoken Languages: English (Native), French (Basic), Spanish (Basic), Swahili (Basic)


Jazmine Travels

Profession: ESL Tutor, Scientist, Writer

Teaching Experience: I've tutored English as a Second Language to students in the state of California. And I was a dance teacher at my local community center teaching dance to students from 3 years of age to 14 years old. I prefer to tutor English, Writing, and Science.

Interests: Health and lifestyle, science, music, travel, historical fiction novels

Education: I studied biology at the University of Maryland. I was an honors student on a full-academic scholarship; I ultimately got my BS in Biology. My plan was to finish college and go immediately into medical school. As it turned out, that didn't happen. I got side-tracked and, enjoying science so much, I studied for another two years and earned an MPH in Public Health at Emory University in Atlanta.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Spanish (Conversational)


Amelia A.

Profession: LICENSED TEACHER, IELTS / OET CONSULTANT, AUTHOR (Math and Science) Only teaches students who are serious, obedient and are ambitious (",)

Teaching Experience: I am an International, Well Rounded Coach! I target a student's weaknesses and improve them. So, if you are serious, obedient and willing to be trained specifically based on your needs, then this class is perfect for you (",)
I teach by RESERVATION ONLY (first come, first serve basis, 4 to 5 hours only per day).
August 2016 IELTS ACADEMIC RESULTS: L/9 R/9 W/9 S/9
Your coach who takes the IELTS examination yearly to give you the fresh tips and questions!
Though I am a full blooded Filipina (that I am very proud of (",), I grew up visiting Carson, California frequently during my childhood years. It was my second home at that time. Thus, I consider myself a Native English Speaker. I am well-traveled (Thanks to my mom ^^). I learned English as my first language. In fact, I was chosen to be the demonstration teacher in Hanyang University in Seoul because of my exceptional English, teaching strategies and classroom management skills. However, my teaching experience was never restricted to teaching Asians. I have been a good coach for Arabians, Indians, Brazilians, Spanish, Italians and a lot more.
In fact, you can often see me in different IELTS blogs where my students give feedback about my classes. From this, I get to earn a lot of opportunities to meet many people across the globe.
Since 2005, I have been teaching IELTS and I was able to establish fundamental strategies to make IELTS Speaking and Writing easier for students. I slice every single criterion and inculcate the proper way of handling themselves, even under pressure. I value time and I want us to work through a lot of content during our classes. I make sure my students' thoughts create their answers, so that they can easily remember them. I just suggest or brainstorm with them to gather more information from their own experiences.
I can also teach OET, ESL, PTE, TOEFL, TOEIC ,OPIC and writing students.
Achievements:
IELTS ACADEMIC MODULE
*latest achievement 5/12/17 from 6.0 to 7.5 in just 15 days (60 minutes per session)*
5.0 to 7.5 in 2 weeks (120 minutes in 14 days).
4.5 to 6.0 in a month (60 minutes, 7 days a week)
IELTS GENERAL MODULE
5.5 to 7.0 in a month (60 minutes, 7 days a week)
6.0 to 7.0 in 2 weeks (60 minutes, 7 days a week)
OET
Nursing A (speaking and writing), 60 minutes, 7 days a week ( 1 1/2 months)
Medicine B (speaking and writing) 60 minutes, 7 days a week ( 4 months)
Nursing B (speaking and writing, 60 minutes, 5 days a week (1 month)


Of course, your success will depend on how much hard work, perseverance and patience you have to rejuvenate yourself in a better IELTS/OET study practice. If not, then this success will not be possible for you.

Interests: I am a well rounded person. I love EVERYTHING ABOUT CHILDREN, reading, outdoor activities, baking, handicrafts, cooking and music. I actually do enjoy many things about Science (Chemistry and Astronomy are my favorites!). I love to sing and compose songs during my free time.

Education: IELTS 9.0 Certified (Academic Module based on my August 2016 Exam)
IELTS 8.5 Certified ( General Module based on my December 2015 Exam)
In fact, I take both modules every year. This is to enhance my knowledge about the examination. I want to be fully equipped and updated with any questions and possible scenarios in the IELTS examination. This way, I can easily coach my students about it.
Licensed Teacher (Preschool, Elementary and Special Education)
Author of Math and Science books (Preschool and Elementary)
I graduated from the University of Santo Tomas: Bachelor of Education major in Early Childhood.
I also have a certificate in Basic Sign Language.

Spoken Languages: English (Native)


Lynn G

Profession: Educator

Teaching Experience: Currently, I am a Program Leader at the Boys and Girls Cub, an after-school program which tutors 1st-5th grade students in Language Arts and Math. We have a diverse group of kids here in California, so they are not always native English speakers. I also taught Fitness through the College of Education department at Florida International University in 2001.

Interests: I am crazy about dogs! I attend dog shows all over the state and am involved in animal rescue. I also love the beach, exploring new places, art and cooking for my family.

Education: I have my B.A. for California State University(San Bernardino) in Social Sciences. My program was a hybrid of Psychology, Anthropology and Economics.

Spoken Languages: English (Native)


Heather Nichole

Profession: ESL Teacher

Teaching Experience: I began working in education as an instructional assistant for a special education program in California. After moving to Mexico almost two years ago, I became TESOL/TEFL certified and worked at a language center for a few months until I got a job teaching remedial English at an International Baccalaureate school. After finishing my contract there, I moved to Mexico City and worked as a teacher-librarian. Currently, I am back in Puebla working part-time as a substitute English teacher at a bilingual junior high school

Interests: traveling, teaching, cooking vegan meals, photography, reading, studying psychology, cuddling my two cats, rocking climbing, biking, listening to music, going to concerts, yoga, learning, watching movies and meeting new people!

Education: Associates of Arts degree in Psychology
TESOL/TEFL certified

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Spanish (Basic)


Mike Crawford

Profession: Retired

Teaching Experience: Taught Bible study programs in State prisons for about 30 years in California

Interests: Travel, music, play guitar,surfing,bike riding

Education: Hawthorne High School. General education.
Some community college.

Spoken Languages: English (Native)


Jeffrey McCoy

Profession: English as a Foreign Language Teacher

Teaching Experience: I am very happy to help people around the world to improve their English and achieve their goals, whatever those goals may be. I am a professional English teacher. I began working in education while I was still an undergraduate student back in 1984. I have taught in public schools for more than 20 years, working with students of every age from kindergarten through 12th grade. I aught English as a second language for seven years in Sonoma County California. I have lived in Medellin, Colombia for the last year and a half and have been running my own little Institute, Inglés Divertido, teaching English to individuals and small groups since shortly after moving here.

Interests: I have always been interested in meeting people from other cultures than my own. I am a lover of language. I am fluent in English and Spanish and I speak some French, Italian, and Portuguese as well.
I have many interests: from gardening to woodworking, building and furniture design, as well as many academic topics: psychology, philosophy, spirituality, personal growth, etc.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Spanish (Fluent), French (Basic), Italian (Basic)


Mica P

Teaching Experience: I have over 20 years of experience as a teacher. I have instructed ESL and also Holistic health and Fitness plus I was a public speaker and performer with the Marriott Corporation in Palm Springs, California where we had participants from all over the world. I believe that learning another language is easiest when you feel comfortable and motivated, without pressure - Practice, practice, feel free to ask questions, talk and laugh as you learn!

Interests: My interests are so many! I love health and fitness and reading and nature and computers and gadgets of any kind. Most of all I love to teach and learn with the exchanges we have. I would love hearing about your interests.
Of course I love languages and grew up in several countries returning to the USA for University. My statement is: Your power...Your move. So let's get you to excel in English!

Education: I have two degrees plus many years teaching. I was in corporate management as an executive for 15 years.My focus was Exercise Physiology Performance and Pedagogy.
I have worked in Europe, the MiddleEast and Europe as well as Mexico and of course the United States. English is my native language but my mother was Spanish and my father spoke seven languages!
10 years in Corporate America and 15 years in Holistic health fields.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Spanish (Basic)