Try Cambly for free. No payment info needed for free trial.

Jeremy14

Profession: EFL teacher (part-time illustrator)

Teaching Experience: I taught in South Korea for about 10 years. My first year there I taught mainly adults in a one to one intensive format. In this year I developed a knack for correcting pronunciation and accent. After that I moved on to a public school position where I was allowed to develop my own curriculum focusing on the Lexical Approach to EFL/ESL. After the public school position I taught at a university. After my university position I worked for an iBT/TOEIC academy, although this was a difficult school for the teachers and the students I developed a lot as a teacher and have great respect for their curriculum. And finally, at my last academy in South Korea I taught adults and was able to use my own curriculum boosted by what I had learned in all my previous years of teaching. I stayed at that school for about three years but wasn't happy with the direction the Korean economy or the academy's management were going. Anyone interested in my curriculum can check it out for free at my blog: jchart-efl.blogspot.com

Interests: I am trying to build my portfolio and clientele as a freelance illustrator as I'm paying my bills through teaching English. I'm also a bit of a news junkie nowadays because I had to do research for curriculum design in my last job. I'm also interested in travel, history, language, etc.

Education: I went to school in Southwest Wisconsin (USA). I attended a few schools, but my degree is from Viterbo University. I have a degree in Graphic Design which I later turned into a double major in Psychology. My intention in the early 2000s was to go to graduate school for Psychology but my graduate program wasn't starting for another 11 months. So I studied abroad in Japan and learned that I could teach EFL in Japan or Korea relatively easily with a Bachelor's Degree. Shortly after that I moved to Busan, South Korea where I lived for the next 10 years or so.

Spoken Languages: English (Native), Korean (Basic)

Profile Video: