Try Cambly for free. No payment info needed for free trial.

Melanie Crane

Profession: ESL Teacher
English Language Instruction, Education
I Deliver one-on-one, fully immersive English language lessons to Chinese students, ages 4-16, in the virtual classroom setting. I engage students and improve understanding through the use of TPR, props, and educational tools while fueling creativity

Emergency Relief Teacher
I follow outlined lesson plans in a variety of subjects and grade levels (K – Level III). I try my best to present fun and instructional lessons that encourage student participation.

Teaching Experience: I am currently a substitute teacher where I interact with many children from different age groups.

Interests: Hello and welcome to my profile!! My name is Teacher Melanie and I live on a small island called Newfoundland, in Canada! If you have not heard of Newfoundland before, do not worry! You are not alone! Newfoundland is the east-most province of Canada. Its people are known for being very friendly, warm, and welcoming. I like to think of myself as possessing all of these adjectives as well :) I am a big fan of thriller novels, cooking, and anything covered in chocolate!

I have a Bachelor of Art's degree in Linguistics and Psychology from the Memorial University of Newfoundland and I am currently working towards my Masters in Counselling Psychology. My goal is to one day offer counseling services to children and youth who live in rural areas and do not have access to this type of aid. I have obtained my level III teaching certificate and am currently an emergency relief teacher at multiple local elementary and high schools. I have also received my 120 hour TESOL certificate which I use to teach ESL classes online to children residing in China and Japan.

I love spending my free time giving back to my community and learning new things. I am currently a volunteer with Girl Guides of Canada where I help young girls build self-confidence and make friendships while learning important life skills. I also volunteer with an organization called Easter Seals. This organization offers different fun programs to people who live with disabilities in Newfoundland. A few more groups I am currently working with are the Newfoundland and Labrador Stuttering Association and 7 Cups. When I am not volunteering, I am learning both American Sign Language and French!

Thank you for reading all about me and now I am excited to learn all about you! See you in the classroom :)

Education: Bachelor of Arts Degree from Memorial University of Newfoundland
English Language Instruction
I completed my bachelor of arts degree in the year 2020, Majoring in Linguistics and minoring in psychology.

Masters of Counselling Psychology from Yorkville University
Mental Health
I am beginning my master's program in September of 2021!

Spoken Languages: English (Native)

Profile Video: